Learn more about what kosher means and how we verify kosher information. Also find out how to tell what's kosher and what isn't, and what are kosher foods for in the first place. The tradition of keeping kosher is alive and well today and there's no shortage of candy with kosher status. Check out the kosher candy in bulk above. If you're looking for holiday candy, please see our more extensive selections at the holidays pages.
Q: What is kosher?
A: In order to maintain a kosher diet, one must follow Jewish dietary law, or kashrut. Though these rules originate from the Torah, they have been increased in scope over the years by Jewish scholars and leaders.
Q: How will I know if something is kosher?
A: There are a lot of common foods and brands that are kosher. So that you don't have to remember the laws yourself while shopping at the grocery store, kosher agencies have come about to help. These agencies routinely inspect food manufacturers to approve of their processes. If they meet the strict guidelines of Jewish dietary law, the food item will be approved as kosher by that agency. Approved foods will have a kosher symbol on the packaging usually near the ingredients list or on the front of the box. Kosher symbols vary from one agency to another.
Below you will find a list of common kosher symbols that can be found on food items like candy. There are a lot of agencies out there, so this list is not complete. Please also be aware that other symbols not listed here may not be considered valid. If you have any questions about kosher symbols that you don't see here, please contact your local rabbi or Jewish kashrut organization.
This is a great site to look up the kosher certification: http://www.kosherquest.org/symbols.php
Q: What do the letters and words in a kosher symbol mean?
A: In kosher diets, milk products can't be eaten together with meat products. For that reason, it can be important to be aware of the ingredients in a food item. Kosher symbols often use the following letters and words:
D = Dairy. This means the product contains some form of milk.
M/Meat = Meat. This means the product contains some form of meat products.
Pareve = Neutral. This means the product contains neither meat nor dairy.
For more details about keeping kosher, check out this informational website: http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm.
Q: How does CandyStore.com verify the kosher status of its kosher candy?
We realize the importance of keeping kosher and strive to bring you the most up to date information on each kosher candy item. We have researched every item in our kosher candy categories to try and bring you the correct Kosher mark for our candies. However, as manufacturers do occasionally change their processes, we cannot guarantee the accuracy of our kosher candy's status. We will not be held responsible for any inaccuracies of this nature on our site. If you are unsure of the kosher status of an item, please contact the manufacturer.